This Critter isn’t scary…

Over the last three weeks I have been exploring RedCritter.  No it’s not a creature I found in the courtyard but rather an online positive behaviour reward system.  This is something I have been looking at implementing in the Junior School for quite sometime.  My wish list for an online positive behaviour reward system is:

  • Align with current Student Enhancement Program and positive behaviour initiatives
  • Be engaging and interactive for all members of school community – teachers, students and parents
  • Provide data to monitor positive behaviour, classroom management and ultimately improve student outcomes.
  • Strengthen partnerships with families
  • Easy to administer and maintain

We currently have a number of excellent positive reward systems that both teachers and students are engaging with.  So this brings me to my biggest challenge or rather biggest question – will my colleagues see the value in using RedCritter that I do?

From this question comes my challenge – getting “buy in” or developing the shared vision.  Getting teachers to share my excitement in bringing our already excellent reward system into the 21st century, getting teachers to see rather than more work this will hopefully lead to a more streamlined approach, and hopefully get them to respond with a little bit of wonderment and awe.

Over the last week I have changed the trial model a number of times as I learn more about RedCritter.  Once we have the “buy in” the aim is to trial the system with Years 3-6.  The main actions of the trial will be:

  • Identify key features that we want to focus on during trial
  • Provide initial and ongoing professional development to teaching staff
  • Use usage data to monitor weekly engagement with system at a student, teacher and parent level.
  • Midway through trial gather feedback on strengths, weaknesses and most importantly opportunities of the system.
  • Provide feedback to developers to enable any identified opportunities and/or weaknesses to be addressed.
  • At conclusion of trial provide detailed report to Senior Executive on engagement with program and feedback.

So wish me luck…I don’t need luck!

I’ll keep you posted on how we are going…

Leave a Reply

